Standard Scopes

ANSI/BHMA A156.36 Auxiliary Locks

ANSI/BHMA A156.36-2016 Auxiliary Locks


1.1 ANSI/BHMA A156.36 establishes requirements for Auxiliary Locks, and includes dimensional criteria and five classifications of tests: operational, cycle, strength, security and, finish . This Standard was formerly part of ANSI/BHMA A156.5 for Auxiliary Locks and Associated Products.
1.2 Tests described in this Standard are performed under laboratory conditions. In actual usage, results vary because of installation, maintenance and environmental conditions.
1.3 Grade Qualifications Manufacturers shall indicate the Grade level to which their product is certified. Products shall meet all Grade requirements for tests listed in 1.1, A Grade 1 product shall meet all Grade 1 criteria, a Grade 2 product shall meet all Grade 2 criteria, and a Grade 3 product shall meet all Grade 3 criteria in each classification.
Previous Scope ANSI/BHMA A156.34 Ligature Resistant Locks
Next Scope ANSI/BHMA A156.37 Multipoint Locks

Search BHMA Certified® Products

For complete listings of BHMA Certified® Products, view the BHMA Certified® Products Directory (CPD). The listings in this directory are performance-oriented standards having cycle, operational, strength, security, and finish test requirements.

Search Now

Get Certified

Participate in the BHMA® Certification Program by voluntarily submitting a hardware product to independent laboratory testing to confirm that it fully meets the criteria of the appropriate ANSI/BHMA® standard.  This industry-wide certification program does not call for a manufacturer to be a BHMA® member in order to certify its products.

Learn More