Free cookie consent management tool by TermsFeed Product Classification & Grade Levels – BHMA Standards

Product Grade Levels

Many ANSI/BHMA standards define different product grades for a particular hardware item. These product grades (grade 1, 2, or 3 -- with grade 1 being the highest) are:

  • Defined by progressive levels of performance benchmarks in each applicable ANSI/BHMA standard.
  • Also ascertained by looking at its BHMA® product number.
  • A way of defining other important classification information, such as the predominant material used, product category, and function of a specific hardware item.

Learn about the ratings for certified residential hardware by visiting the Secure Home website.

Search BHMA Certified® Products

For complete listings of BHMA Certified® Products, view the BHMA Certified® Products Directory (CPD). The listings in this directory are performance-oriented standards having cycle, operational, strength, security, and finish test requirements.

Search Now

Get Certified

Participate in the BHMA® Certification Program by voluntarily submitting a hardware product to independent laboratory testing to confirm that it fully meets the criteria of the appropriate ANSI/BHMA® standard.  This industry-wide certification program does not call for a manufacturer to be a BHMA® member in order to certify its products.

Learn More